jump to navigation

20060224 2006 February 24

Posted by kc2ped in Uncategorized.
trackback

Today I registered my intent to take the General exam on Monday with the VEC at Columbia University. I was up to an all day average on the HamTestOnline simulator of 90% yesterday. Today I went to the library to abuse the T1, update my web page, and do some studying. My batteries died after I had only taken one exam and gotten part of the web page updates done. The first exam of the day I passed with a few questions to spare. My plan is to take a bunch of practice exams during the day on Monday since my score seems to go up after having taken several of them. Hopefully that will get me primed for the real deal Monday evening.

On the way home tonight I stopped at the newsstand in the lobby of the MetLife building where I usually get Popular Communications magazine. They did not have it tonight so I got CQ Amateur Radio Communications and Technology, which is more apropos anyway since it is about two-way communications and Popular Communications is only about monitoring. CQ has a market survey of UHF/VHF handhelds. They give a lot of column space to the Kenwood TH-D7A(G) in their most expensive radios section and don’t have anything bad to say about it. But then they didn’t have anything bad to say about any of the radios they reviewed. I am sure that the good reviews and the fact that all of the radios reviewed were manufactured by a company that has at least a full page ad in the magazine is purely a coincidence.

